Entry Level Referee Courses

Want to become a Referee?

The entry level referee course (USSF Grade 8) is typically held in the evenings or weekends, the student must take online videos and attend in person classes. The course fee is $60.00, which includes an annual $45.00 USSF registration fee and Maryland State Administration fee.  Materials are supplied by the instructor at each course.  Students are required to attend the complete course in order to become a referee.

In order to register for a course, click on the registration button/link directly beneath the desired course.  You will receive a follow up email confirming your submission and telling you if anything additional is required. Space is limited and when a course is full, registration ends.  Registration for courses is cut off 72 hours prior to the first day. Registrations after that may incur an additional late fee. “Walk ins” are normally not accepted.

NOTE: If you register and pay and decide you can’t make the course send an email to the Lead Instructor or the SDI and they will remove you. Your payment will still be good for another clinic. If you decide you want a refund, the State will refund all monies except for the $5.00 State Administration Fee. This is to recover the cost for the system and mandatory background check.

If you have any questions please contact: Bob Reath

Entry Level Referee Courses:

If you register to take the entry level clinic you must complete the online portion of the training prior to class. To do this once you are registered and in the clinic site select “Load Session Tracker” and complete Session 1, Grade 8 online training, and Session 2, Referee and AR Signals. After the first class you will be required to complete Session 3, the Grade 8 Test. This consists of 50 questions and you must get a passing score of 80%. HINT: You have multiple chances to achieve the 80%.

Winter Entry level Clinics

Please Read
These clinics are for individuals who want to referee in 2019 and have never been certified. Here are directions for registering:

1.) Click on the appropriate registration button below.
2.) On the Maryland Officials Management Systems page, click on the drop down button that says “Please select”.
3.) Highlight “Entry-Never been a USSF referee before”.
4.) Click on “Register” next to the course you want to attend.
5.) You will be prompted from there – follow on screen instructions.
6.) Once you are registered, on your Member Home Page, scroll down to “Online Lessons”.
7.) Read the IMPORTANT INFORMATION at the top of the page.
8.) Click on “Click Here to Start Lesson”.
9.) Complete all required lessons.

If you have any questions, please send them to the Lead Instructor of the clinic you would like to attend.

Charles County, MD

Mon, Dec 3 6:00pm – 9:00pm
Tue, Dec 4 6:00pm – 9:00pm
Mon, Dec 10 6:00pm – 9:00pm
Tue, Dec 11 6:00pm – 9:00pm
(Must attend all sessions to be certified)

Laplata High School
6035 Radio Station Road
Laplata, MD 20646

Contact: Mike Tretick

Carroll County, MD

Sat, Dec 8 9:00am – 5:00pm
Sun, Dec 9 9:00am – 1:00pm
(Must attend all sessions to be certified)

Westminster High School
1225 Washington Road
Westminster, MD 21157

Contact: Bob Reath

Waldorf, MD

Mon, Jan 7 6:00pm – 9:00pm
Wed, Jan 9 6:00pm – 9:00pm
Tue, Jan 15 6:00pm – 9:00pm
Thu, Jan 17 6:00pm – 9:00pm
(Must attend all sessions to be certified)

Capital Clubhouse
3033 Waldorf Market Place
Waldorf, MD 20603

Contact: Mike Tretick

Joppa, MD

Sat, Jan 19 8:30am – 4:00pm
Sun, Jan 20 8:30am – 1:00pm
(Must attend all sessions to be certified)

Joppa Magnolia VFD
1403 Old Mountain Road South
Joppa, MD 21085

Contact: Marty Kuser

Calvert County, MD

Mon, Jan 21 6:00pm – 9:00pm
Wed, Jan 23 6:00pm – 9:00pm
Tue, Jan 29 6:00pm – 9:00pm
Thu, Jan 31 6:00pm – 9:00pm
(Must attend all sessions to be certified)

Calvert Field House
200 Bugeye Sq
Prince Frederick, MD 20678

Contact: Mike Tretick

Carroll County, MD

Sat, Feb 9 9:00am – 5:00pm
Sun, Feb 10 9:00am – 1:00pm
(Must attend all sessions to be certified)

Westminster High School
1225 Washington Road
Westminster, MD 21157

Contact: Bob Reath

Cumberland, MD

Sat, Feb 16 9:00am – 5:30pm
(Must attend all day to be certified)

Cumberland YMCA
601 Kelly Road
Cumberland, MD 21502

Contact: Bob Reath

Montgomery County, MD

Sun, Feb 17 11 9:00am – 5:00pm
Sun, Feb 24 9:00am – 1:00pm
(Must attend all sessions to be certified)

Maryland Soccerplex/Discovery Sport
18031 Central Park Circle
Boyds MD 20841

Contact: Bob Reath

St. Mary’s County, MD

Mon, Feb 20 6:00pm – 9:00pm
Wed, Feb 22 6:00pm – 9:00pm
Tue, Feb 26 6:00pm – 9:00pm
Thu, Feb 28 6:00pm – 9:00pm
(Must attend all sessions to be certified)

Chancellors Run Rec Center
21905 Chancellors Run Road
Great Mills, MD 20634

Contact: Mike Tretick

Comments are closed.